Miguel Migs Previews ‘I Can Feel It’

Miguel Migs Press Shot

There’s no denying summer is here and there’s no denying what will be a summertime anthem now that Miguel Migs has dropped previews of his song “I Can Feel It.”

But Migs took it one step further. Not only did he craft a housified banger that blends tribal rhythms and chopped-up hooks, he also presented two remix previews to accompany it. The Piano Love Mix features a tickling of keys with a lush composition and the Deep Salted Dub is full of ebbs and flows.

No matter your choice, you can’t go wrong with this deep house number that’s sure to get barbecues, pool parties and clubs on their feet.

Ultra Records Files Copyright Suit Against YouTube Star

Well, this isn’t a good look! Ultra Records has filed suit against Michelle Phan — a YouTube star who has racked up 6.5 million subscribers and more than 150 million views of her videos featuring makeup tips — for using its music without permission, according to TMZ.

Phan is accused by the label of taking “4AM” by Kaskade, among other songs, as well as tunes by Deadmau5, and inserting them into her clips.

According to the gossip site, Phan has been posting videos since 2007, and Ultra wants to know how much she’s earned from the videos and wants all the profits from them, too.

It will be interesting to see what sort of precedent this case sets, as Phan is far from the only YouTuber guilty of “borrowing” tracks from Dance/EDM artists.

Duke Dumont Releases ‘Won’t Look Back’ Video

It’s an all-out battle between good guys and bad guys in Duke Dumont’s latest music video. “Won’t Look Back” features a gang of pogo stick-riding robbers heisting jewels and being pursued after the caper by a slow-moving, Segway-riding police officer, who somehow manages to neutralize most of the crew.

But the showdown takes a plunge when the copper confronts the one who got away atop an L.A. skyscraper.

It’s an epic to-be-continued adventure that matches the dark deep house melody of the track, which will be released Aug. 24.

Zedd Performs on ‘Good Morning America’

Germany scored another big win this week when Zedd took the stage during Good Morning America’s Summer Concert Series. Not content with just winning the World Cup, the nation proudly displayed one of EDM’s hottest stars for all of New York City and the U.S. to see.

The DJ/producer/piano player — born to Russian musicians in that country before moving to Germany — was joined by vocalist Miriam Bryant, who sang through hits “Clarity” and an orchestral version of “Stay the Night,” filling in nicely for Foxes and Haley Williams, respectively.

The closing number pumped up the volume and the crowd: the uplifting “Lost at Sea,” normally sung by Ryan Tedder, but here cued up on Zedd’s massive mix system.

Like his appearance on Late Show with David Letterman nearly a year and a half ago, Zedd continues to showcase that his talents are more than just button-pushing. He’s a talented musician who happens to be creating some of dance music’s hottest tunes. And now millions have been introduced to his abilities.

What did you think of Zedd’s performance?

Dance Nominees Announced for 2014 MTV Video Music Awards

MTV may not play many music videos these days, but that doesn’t stop the network from handing out honors for the art form each year.

The 2014 MTV VMAs will air Sun., Aug. 24 at 9 p.m. Eastern. On Thursday, the nominees for the highly competitive MTV Clubland Award were announced and the videos up for a Moonman trophy this year include:

– Calvin Harris, “Summer”
Disclosure, “Grab Her!”
DJ Snake & Lil Jon, “Turn Down for What”
Martin Garrix, “Animals”
Zedd feat. Hayley Williams, “Stay the Night”

Dance acts racked up nominations in other categories as well, including:

– Sia, “Chandelier” (Video of the Year)
– Avicii feat. Aloe Blacc, “Wake Me Up” (Best Pop Video)
– Jason Derulo feat. 2 Chainz, “Talk Dirty” (Best Pop Video, Best Choreography)
– Charlie XCX, “Boom Clap” (Artist to Watch)
– Pitbull feat. Kesha, “Timber” (Best Collaboration)
Avicii feat. Dan Tyminski, “Hey Brother” (Best Video with a Social Message)
– David Guetta, “One Voice” (Best Video with a Social Message)
Zedd feat. Hayley Williams, “Stay the Night” (Best Editing)
– Kiesza, “Hideaway” (Best Choreography)
DJ Snake & Lil Jon, “Turn Down for What” (Best Direction, Best Art Direction and Best Visual Effects)
Disclosure, “Grab Her!” (Best Visual Effects)

No dance artists have been slated to perform just yet, but could be announced as the VMAs approach. Still, the presence of the genre will definitely be felt on Aug. 24. Who do you think will win? And will you be tuning in?

Leann Rimes to Release Greatest Hits Remix Album

Leann Rimes Dance Like You Don't Give A ... Greatest Hits Remixes

Taylor Swift dabbled in dubstep for her hit “I Knew You Were Trouble,” but she’s not the only country diva to successfully fill floors with dance music.

Leann Rimes has scored a handful of country-dance crossover hits, including “Can’t Fight the Moonlight,” “What I Cannot Change” and “Grace,” a collaboration with The Crystal Method.

As a thank you to her dance music fans, she’s releasing Dance Like You Don’t Give A … Greatest Hits Remixes on Aug. 5. The 13-song set features reinterpreted takes from the likes of Dave Audé, Kaskade, Soul Seekerz and more, and includes clubbed-up versions of tear-jerkers such as “I Need You,” “How Do I Live” and “You’ve Ruined Me.”

Check out the track list here:

1. “Gasoline & Matches” [Dave Audé Remix feat. Rob Thomas & Jeff Beck]
2. “What I Cannot Change” [Kaskade Remix]
3. “Crazy Women” [7th Heaven Remix]
4. “I Need You” [Digital Dogs Remix]
5. “Help Me Make It Through the Night” [Fear of Tigers Remix]
6. “Spitfire” [Fagault & Marina Remix]
7. “Can’t Fight the Moonlight” [Alias Remix]
8. “You’ve Ruined Me” [Dave Audé Remix]
9. “How Do I Live” [Cahill Remix]
10. “Strong” [Cicada Remix]
11. “Nothin’ Better to Do” [Soul Seekerz Remix]
12. “Headphones” [Headspinners Remix]
13. “Grace” (with Crystal Method)

Eager to two-step to four-on-the-floor beats? Preorder the album on iTunes and Amazon.